Certified Fire Protection Specialist- NFPA – Course Overview

The Certified Fire Protection Specialist credential is intended to recognize qualified personnel with dedicated skills to curtailing fire loss that cover physical and financial and possess professionalism that has been gained through practical working experience, academy and successful completion of a certification examination.
The core aim of the CFPS program lies in fostering fire protection and prevention. A particular degree is not required to get a CFPS designation. This credential is the right blend of education and experience, thus ensuring learners the best chance for the fire protection specialist to gain professional recognition.

The National Fire Protection Association ensures that the certification and recertification criteria are in alignment with the fire protection specialist.

    Enquire Now

    Age Range:

    Eligibility for the exam

    Candidates should meet any of the below criteria to fulfil the need for taking the CFPS examination:

    • Bachelor’s /Master’s degree in Fire Protection or related discipline. It should be gained from an accredited college/university. The qualification also covers degrees in engineering fields related to the practice of fire protection; Also, 2 years of practical working experience in curtailing fire loss (both physical and financial).
    • An Associate’s degree in Fire Protection or a similar discipline is expected to be gained from a renowned college/university.
      or a Bachelor’s or Master’s degree in a not-related field; but 4 years of working experience related to curtailing fire loss which covers physical and financial is required.
    • A high school diploma or similar is also accepted. In addition, 6 years of provable working experience related to curtailing fire loss which includes physical and financial is recommended.

    Who can take this CFPS Course?

    CFPS Certification is optimal for professionals belonging to fire safety, protection, prevention, and suppression techniques and similar sectors.
    This includes:

    • Code enforcers
    • Designers and engineers
    • Fire officers, marshalls, and inspectors
    • Fire protection consultants
    • Loss control specialists
    • Risk, safety, and facility managers

    Duration & Learning mode

    The CFPS exam contains 100 multiple-choice questions, a 3-hour (maximum) and an open-book exam. You can take this exam across the world at Prometric’s in-person computer-based testing facilities. Also, you can take the exam through online remote proctoring from your preferred location, on your personal /work computer.

    Why take a Fire Protection Specialist Certification?

    • Personal growth
    • Exhibit capability
    • To have a sense of Accomplishment, Confidence and Pride
    • For Professional Designation
    • Recognition in the Industry, among Peer and Management
    • Career growth
    • For improved job opportunities
    Learning Objectives
    • Delivers ideas on human behaviour and fire.
    • Understand the comprehensive factors contributing to Fire Protection Systems
    • Detecting industrial hazards, preventing fire and protecting life and assets.
    • How to handle fire safety equipment.
    • Preparing the public with relevant Emergency Response Plans and Procedures
    • Improved training procedures and programs that teach society to act safely, mitigating the risk of injury or loss of life in case of a blaze.
    • Carry out fire loss investigation and reporting