Main Menu

NEBOSH IGC New Syllabus

Nebosh has now published a revamped and new syllabus for Nebosh IGC.

The new syllabus now consists of only 2 units.

  • IG1 – Management of health and safety – Theory paper – passing marks 45/100
  • IG2 – Risk Assessment – Practical unit.

Both IG1 and IG2 will be marked by NEBOSH.

The first exam on new syllabus specification would be conducted from Nov 2019 onwards and this roll out would be applicable across all centers we operate.

Learners on the old Syllabus

Learners who are on the current syllabus of 3 paper units (IGC1, GC2 and GC3) would now have the buffer period to complete all units until 31st March 2022. If they fail to complete all these units by this date, all previously passed units if any would be void and they would need to be enrolled on the new syllabus from 1st April 2022. It is most advisable for learners to be enrolled on the new syllabus specification effective immediately.

Please note that there is no system of waiver or credit between the old and new syllabus. Students who have completed part units on the old syllabus DO NOT have the option to transfer or apply for waiver on the new syllabus. If the learners wish to discontinue the old syllabus and apply on the new syllabus specification, this would be treated as a fresh registration and both new papers (IG1 and IG2) will have to be completed.

NEBOSH International General Certificate Course – Key Facts
Unit prefixes and title/s: Unit IG1: Management of health and safety
Unit IG2: Risk assessment
Unit IG 1:
Unit IG 2:
Assessment Type
Question paper
Practical assessment
Assessment Time
2 hours
3 hours
Modes of study: A full-time block release course (minimum of two weeks, ten working days including question paper hours) Part-time day release (spread over at least ten weeks) Open or distance learning.
Qualification level and number of credits: National SCQF Level 6 with 11 credits (Equivalent to RQF Level 3)
Entry requirements: None
Pass standards: Unit IG1: 45 marks
Unit IG2: The minimum standard required for a Unit IG2 ‘Pass’ can be found  on page 8 of the IG2 Guidance for Learning Partners and Learners A ‘Pass’ must be achieved in both units to achieve the International General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety
Qualification grades: The qualification grade is based on the result from Unit IG1
Distinction:  75 marks or higher
Credit:   65 – 74 marks
Pass:   45 – 64 marks

Syllabus Summary


Element Assessment
1 Why we should manage workplace health and safety  

Question paper

(one 20-mark question and ten 8-mark questions)


Unit IG1: Management of health and safety

2 How health and safety management systems work and what they look like
3 Managing risk – understanding people and processes
4 Health and safety monitoring and measuring


Element Assessment
5 Physical and psychological health  




Practical assessment

Unit IG2: Risk assessment

6 Musculoskeletal health
7 Chemical and biological agents
8 General workplace issues
9 Work equipment
10 Fire
11 Electricity
For Detail ON New Syllabus & Leaflet Click the below links


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>